UK Bank Holiday Dates 
Print this pageAdd to Favorite
Notable Dates 
New Years Day 
St George's Day 
Summer Bank Holiday 
Christmas Day 
Boxing Day 
New Years Eve 

UK Bank Holiday Dates.

Welcome to the website dedicated to information on all the United Kingdom Bank Holidays. As well as giving you the dates of bank holidays like Easter in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland you can find information on the history of the date and the reason it became a bank holiday as well as information on other important dates like Mothers Day, Fathers Day and Valentines Day even though they are not classed as Bank holidays.

Bank holidays were introduced by the Bank Holidays Act of 1871 The Bank Holiday Act of 1871 turned some religious festivals into secular holidays designating four holidays in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and five in Scotland. These were Easter Monday, the first Monday in August, the 26th December, and Whit Monday (England, Wales and Northern Ireland) and New Year's Day, Good Friday, the first Monday in May, the first Monday in August, and Christmas Day (Scotland). In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, both Christmas Day and Good Friday were traditional days of rest and Christian worship (as were Sundays) and did not need to be included in the Act. The act was introduced by Sir John Lubbock. The name Bank Holiday comes from the time when banks were shut and so no trading could take place.

Two additional days were subsequently appointed in Northern Ireland: St Patrick's Day (17 March) by a special Act of Parliament in 1903 and 12 July (Anniversary of the Battle of the Boyne in 1690), by the Governor of Northern Ireland in 1926.

In 1971 Whit Monday in England, Wales and Northern Ireland (which could fall anywhere between 11 May and 14 June) was formally replaced by a fixed spring holiday on the last Monday in May and the last Monday in August was formally made a bank holiday in place of the first Monday in August in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. 

In 1973 the 2 January was created an additional bank holiday in Scotland.

In 1974 New Year's Day became an additional bank holiday in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and Boxing Day became an additional bank holiday in Scotland.

In 1978 the first Monday in May in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and the last Monday in May in Scotland, became additional bank holidays. May day is often associated strongly with International Workers' Rights day but its roots as a holiday stretch back to pre-Christian pagan festivals, and the Gaelic Beltane. The familiar rituals of dancing around the Maypole and the crowning of the May Queen made it a popular seasonal celebration in medieval England.
On November 29th  2006 the St Andrew's Day Bank Holiday (Scotland) Act 2007 was passed by the Scottish Parliament. It was given Royal Assent by Queen Elizabeth II on January 15, 2007 and the first St Andrew's Day bank holiday took place in Scotland on November 30, 2007.

On 5 January 2010 Lord Mandelson announced that an extra bank holiday would take place on Tuesday, 5 June 2012 and by moving the Spring Bank Holiday from the last Monday in May to 4 June, this would result in a four-day holiday in honour of the Diamond Jubilee, coinciding with the Queen's Official Birthday in the United Kingdom, also on 4 June.

Workers in Cyprus have the most public holidays in Western Europe with 15, followed by Malta and Spain with 14, Austria and Portugal follow with 13, while the UK and Holland have the lowest with eight each.
Difference between a bank holiday and a public holiday? 

Bank holidays are holidays when banks and many other businesses are closed for the day. Public holidays are holidays which have been observed through custom and practice.